Argentina is positioned in both the western and southern hemisphere. It’s located in southern South America, and bordered by Chile, Bolivia, Paraguay, Brazil, Uruguay and the Atlantic Ocean.

Location: Buenos Aires: (capital city) 34° 36′ S, 58° 22′ W
Esquel: 42° 54′ S, 71° 18′ W
Rawson: 43° 17′ S, 65° 5′ W
Salta: 24° 46′ S, 65° 24′ W
Ushuaia: 54° 5′ S, 67° 39′ W

Beagle Channel, Argentina and Chile
The Beagle Channel is a strait separating islands of the Tierra del Fuego Archipelago along the southern edges of South America.

During his 1831 world voyage, Charles Darwin traveled through this somewhat narrow body of water on his way to the Pacific Ocean. Later named for Darwin’s ship, the Beagle, it’s one of the most beautiful water passageways on the planet.

In modern times, it’s the favorite route of cruise ships traveling south to Ushuaia and Antarctica because unlike the often turbulent South Pacific Ocean, it’s waters are sheltered and calm. In addition, it’s fronted by some of the most impressive glaciers in South America.

ArgentinaMap of Argentina

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s