Name: Tasmania
Capital: Hobart (211,656 population) (2012)
Population: 523,400 (2014)
Population Density: 7.24/km2 (18.8 /sq mi)
Populations (all countries)
Currency: Australian Dollar

Tasmania GSP (gross state product) per capital: A$44,011 (2011-2012)
Australian Ethnicity: (countrywide) English 32%, Australian 27%, Irish 7%, Italian 4%, indigenous 3%, Scottish 2%, German 2%, Chinese 2%
Australian Languages: (countrywide) English 78.5%, Chinese 2.5%, Italian 1.6%, Greek 1.3%, Arabic 1.2%, Vietnamese 1%, other 8.2%, unspecified 5.7% (2006 Census)
Australian Religion: (countrywide) Protestant 27.4% (Anglican 18.7%, Uniting Church 5.7%, Presbyterian and Reformed 3%), Catholic 25.8%, Eastern Orthodox 2.7%, other Christian 7.9%, Buddhist 2.1%, Muslim 1.7%, other 2.4%, unspecified 11.3%, none 18.7% (2006 Census)

Largest Cities: (by population) Hobart, Launceston, Devonport, Burnie, Somerset, Blackmans Bay
Name: Named for Dutch explorer Abel Tasman
National Day: January 26
Time Zone UTC+10 (AEST) UTC+11 (AEDT)


Tasmania is located 150 miles (240 km) to the south of Australia, within the Indian and Pacific Oceans, and offers captivating scenery, and world-class food and wine.
Originally inhabited by Tasmanian Aborigines some 35,000 years ago, the island was first spotted by Dutch explorer Abel Tasman in 1642. European settlement began in 1803.
Early settlers to the island consisted primarily of convicts and their military guards, assigned with developing agriculture and other industries.

The Aborigines were resistant to the invasion of the new settlers. Conflicts arose, becoming so strong that European troops were deployed to drive the Aborigines to nearby islands.
Tasmania suffered economic instability in its early years, as did many new colonies, remaining however, mainly prosperous, with steady growth. In 1901, Tasmania and five other Australian colonies, formed the Commonwealth of Australia, and was granted legislative power.
With nearly 37% of the island designated as reserves, national parks, and World Heritage Sites, Tasmania is well known as the “Island of Inspiration” or the natural state.


Located 150 miles (240 km) south of Australia, separated by the Bass Strait, the state of Tasmania includes the main island, as well as the surrounding 334 islands. Tasmania is surrounded by both the Indian and Pacific Oceans.
Geographically, the island of Tasmania is similar to New Zealand, and is Australia’s most mountainous state. The Central Highlands dominate the central and western parts of the state, while the central eastern Midlands are fairly flat.
Much of Tasmania is densely forested, with the Southwest National Park being home to some of the last temperate rainforests in the Southern Hemisphere. In the island’s far northwestern region, the Tarkine is the largest temperate rainforest in Australia, and covers roughly 1,500 sq. miles (3,800 sq. km).
There are a great number of rivers within Tasmania, due to its rugged topography, the most notable of which include the Derwent and South Esk Rivers. The major lakes of Tasmania are Lake Pedder, Lake Gordon, and the Great Lake.
Tasmania’s highest point is Mount Ossa at 5,305 ft. (1,617 m), and it’s lowest is the Indian Ocean (0 m).

Landforms of Australia/Oceania

Oceania contains a wide variety of landforms, with most of the significant ones located in the countries of Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea. And because most of the islands of Oceania are small in size (mere dots on the map), it’s impossible for us to show their individual landforms on a single and readable map.
Many of those small island are remnants of ancient volcanic activity, or coral atolls that encircles a lagoon partially or completely. Few have rivers of any size, and for that matter, lakes. So, here we show and describe Australia’s recognized landforms, and for the other countries, dependencies and territories.